Keystone logo
Tokyo University of Technology

Tokyo University of Technology

Tokyo University of Technology


Established in 1986, the Tokyo University of Technology is commemorating its 25th anniversary in 2011. It should be noted, however, that the foundation of its predecessor as an educational corporation dates back to 1947; thus, the educational corporation itself celebrated its 60th anniversary in 2007.

Whereas Tokyo University of Technology originally started out in Hachioji, Tokyo, as a single-faculty college with only the School of Engineering, it has now grown into a university with five faculties spanning two campuses: Hachioji and Kamata, Tokyo. In 1999 it added the School of Media Science, the first of its kind in Japan; in 2003 it reorganized itself into a three-faculty university by adding the School of Computer Science and the School of Bioscience and Biotechnology, and in 201 0 it opened the School of Design and the School of Health Sciences in Kamata.


  • Hachioji

    1404-1 Katakuramachi, 192-0982, Hachioji

    • Ota City

      5 Chome-23-22 Nishikamata, 144-8535, Ota City