Keystone logo
© London Metropolitan University
London Metropolitan University

London Metropolitan University

London Metropolitan University


Based in one of the world's most exciting capital cities, London Met is home to a welcoming community of inspiring and determined learners, teachers and innovative thinkers.

We offer a wide range of courses, from undergraduate and postgraduate degrees to short courses and professional qualifications, many of which are available to study full-time or part-time to best suit your needs and lifestyle.

Our History

London Metropolitan University has a rich history with strong educational roots dating back to 1848.

The University as it is today was created in 2002 with the merging of London Guildhall University and the University of North London, the first merger between two universities in the UK. Its roots, however, lie firmly in the nineteenth century with the establishment of the Metropolitan Evening Classes for Young Men in 1848.

In 1848 the then Bishop of London called upon the clergy to set up evening classes to improve the "moral, intellectual and spiritual condition of young men in the metropolis". The Metropolitan Evening Classes for Young Men was thus born and later became the City of London College and then the City of London Polytechnic. In 1992, it was awarded university status and adopted the name London Guildhall University.

Holloway campus

Over the past 100 years, our north London campus has developed into a modern, progressive centre with a strong reputation for widening access to education.

This campus began life in 1896 as the Northern Polytechnic Institute. By 1900, student numbers had doubled and later the Institute's evening degrees were recognised by the University of London. In 1992 the Polytechnic of North London won the right to the title of University and the ability to award its own degrees.

Our academic structure

The University's academic structure is made up of five schools, with each of our courses taught within one of these schools. If you're looking to study with us, you can find out which school your course is managed under by checking the relevant course page.

Students studying in any of our academic schools have access to all our communal facilities (such as libraries, social spaces, cafés and eateries). Many of our schools also have areas of expertise that mean you use specialist facilities and resources as part of your course. Our schools have links to relevant businesses in sectors related to their specialist subject areas, and academics and PhD students within each of our schools also undertake important research that's making a difference in communities locally, nationally and beyond.

  • The School of Art, Architecture and Design: Internationally recognised for high-quality teaching, excellent facilities and unique opportunities.
  • Guildhall School of Business and Law: Offering a dynamic and relevant portfolio of business and law courses.
  • School of Computing and Digital Media: Offering qualifications in subjects from creative technologies to electronics.
  • School of Human Sciences: Offering a wide range of courses in subjects including science, dietetics, and sport.
  • School of Social Sciences and Professions: Demonstrating the relevance of the social sciences and professions as a tool for effecting societal change.


  • London

    166–220 Holloway Road, N7 8DB, London

  • London

    Old Castle Street, E1 7NT, London